Statement by the Nobel Laureates, July 28, 2021

We Nobel Laureates are greatly concerned about a series of incidents that occurred prior to and during the Nobel Prize Summit, Our Planet, Our Future, held from April 26-28, 2021. The Summit brought together international thought leaders of all ages around the world to address some of the greatest challenges that humanity faces. The meeting was jointly sponsored by the Nobel Foundation and the US National Academy of Sciences.

In late March and again in early April, the Chinese Embassy in Washington telephoned a senior National Academy official and insisted that two of the scheduled speakers, the Dalai Lama and Dr. Yuan T. Lee, should be disinvited and not allowed to speak at the Nobel Summit. The embassy was told at both times that no such disinvitation would take place. On Sunday afternoon, April 25th, immediately before the Nobel Summit, the National Academy received an email from the Chinese Embassy demanding that the Dalai Lama and Dr. Yuan T. Lee not be permitted to speak. Again, the request was denied.

During the first virtual session of the meeting on April 26th, the video transmission of the session was disrupted by a presumed cyber-attack. Again, on April 27th another cyber-attack disrupted the entire platform.

Regardless of whether these attacks were linked to the demands from the Chinese embassy, we are outraged by the Chinese governments attempt to censor and bully the scientific community by attempting to prevent two of our fellow Laureates (or indeed anyone) from speaking at a meeting outside of China.

The future of our planet will require collaboration between all nations and all scientists across the globe. Many of us have valued scientific colleagues and long-standing friends in China, with whom we interact productively. Unfortunately, actions such as those described above only serve to hinder such essential cooperation, and if continued, will affect our willingness to participate in events in China, particularly those fully or partially sponsored or supported by the Chinese government.

We strongly believe that the free and open expression of ideas and the freedom of assembly are basic human rights, and international forums such as the Nobel Summit are essential means of finding solutions, maintaining international trust, and securing a more just and prosperous future. In so doing, these efforts will confer great benefits onto humankind.


Peter Agre Chemistry 2003
Sidney Altman Chemistry 1989
Paul Berg Chemistry 1980
Eric Betzig Chemistry 2014
Thomas R. Cech Chemistry 1989
Martin Chalfie Chemistry 2008
Elias James Corey Chemistry 1990
Robert F. Curl Jr. Chemistry 1996
Johann Deisenhofer Chemistry 1988
Jennifer A. Doudna Chemistry 2020
Gerhard Ertl Chemistry 2007
Joachim Frank Chemistry 2017
Walter Gilbert Chemistry 1980
Richard Henderson Chemistry 2017
Dudley R. Herschbach Chemistry 1986
Roald Hoffmann Chemistry 1981
Robert Huber Chemistry 1988
Brian K. Kobilka Chemistry 2012
Yuan T. Lee Chemistry 1986
Roderick MacKinnon Chemistry 2003
Hartmut Michel Chemistry 1988
Paul L. Modrich Chemistry 2015
William E. Moerner Chemistry 2014
Ryoji Noyori Chemistry 2001
John C. Polanyi Chemistry 1986
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry 2009
Jean-Pierre Sauvage Chemistry 2016
Richard R. Schrock Chemistry 2005
Hideki Shirakawa Chemistry 2000
George P. Smith Chemistry 2018
Sir James Fraser Stoddart Chemistry 2016
Sir John E. Walker Chemistry 1997
M. Stanley Whittingham Chemistry 2019
Sir Gregory P. Winter Chemistry 2018
Lars Peter Hansen Economics 2013
Finn E. Kydland Economics 2004
Paul R. Milgrom Economics 2020
William D. Nordhaus Economics 2018
Christopher A. Sims Economics 2011
Vernon L. Smith Economics 2002
Joseph E. Stiglitz Economics 2001
J. M. Coetzee Literature 2003
Elfriede Jelinek Literature 2004
Herta Muller Literature 2009
Alice Munro Literature 2013
Wole Soyinka Literature 1986
David Baltimore Medicine 1975
Francoise Barre-Sinoussi Medicine 2008
William C. Campbell Medicine 2015
Mario R. Capecchi Medicine 2007
Sir Martin J. Evans Medicine 2007
Joseph L. Goldstein Medicine 1985
Carol W. Greider Medicine 2009
Jeffrey Connor Hall Medicine 2017
Leland H. Hartwell Medicine 2001
Harald zur Hausen Medicine 2008
Tasuku Honjo Medicine 2018
H. Robert Horvitz Medicine 2002
Tim Hunt Medicine 2001
Louis J. Ignarro Medicine 1998
William G. Kaelin Jr. Medicine 2019
Eric R. Kandel Medicine 2000
Barry J. Marshall Medicine 2005
Craig C. Mello Medicine 2006
Edvard Moser Medicine 2014
May-Britt Moser Medicine 2014
John O'Keefe Medicine 2014
Sir Richard J. Roberts Medicine 1993
Michael Rosbash Medicine 2017
Randy W. Schekman Medicine 2013
Gregg L. Semenza Medicine 2019
Hamilton O. Smith Medicine 1978
Jack W. Szostak Medicine 2009
Susumu Tonegawa Medicine 1987
Harold E. Varmus Medicine 1989
J. Robin Warren Medicine 2005
Eric F. Wieschaus Medicine 1995
Torsten N. Wiesel Medicine 1981
Ferid Murad Medicine) 1998
Shirin Ebadi Peace 2003
Adolfo Perez Esquivel Peace 1980
Jody Williams Peace 1997
Barry Clark Barish Physics 2017
Steven Chu Physics 1997
Jerome I. Friedman Physics 1990
Reinhard Genzel Physics 2020
Sheldon Glashow Physics 1979
David J. Gross Physics 2004
John L. Hall Physics 2005
Serge Haroche Physics 2012
Gerardus 't Hooft Physics 1999
Brian D. Josephson Physics 1973
Takaaki Kajita Physics 2015
Wolfgang Ketterle Physics 2001
Klaus von Klitzing Physics 1985
Anthony J. Leggett Physics 2003
John C. Mather Physics 2006
Michel Mayor Physics 2019
Gerard Mourou Physics 2018
Arno Penzias Physics 1978
William D. Phillips Physics 1997
Brian P. Schmidt Physics 2011
Horst L. Stormer Physics 1998
Donna Strickland Physics 2018
Joseph H. Taylor Jr. Physics 1993
Kip Stephen Thorne Physics 2017
Daniel C. Tsui Physics 1998
Rainer Weiss Physics 2017
Carl E. Wieman Physics 2001
Robert Woodrow Wilson Physics 1978
David J. Wineland Physics 2012